SUU Softball Sweeps Weekly Conference Awards
Courtesy: SUU Media Relations
Release: 04/25/2012
Send this article to a friend Print RSS

CEDAR CITY, Utah - Southern Utah University softball's Mikkel Griffn and Heather Black have been named the Summit League Player and Pitcher of the week, respectively, for their performances against South Dakota State last weekend.

Griffin hit for the cycle over the three game series, carrying a .556 average with a home run, triple and double. The St. George native also notched five RBI and five runs as the Thunderbirds swept South Dakota State, shutting out the Jackrabbits in each game.

Black started in the circle in all three games and grew stronger as the series progressed. The senior struck out three in game 1, six in game 2 and a season-best eight in game 3. For the week, Black only allowed seven hits and one walk for a perfect 0.00 ERA.

Southern Utah will wrap up its regular season next weekend at North Dakota State.

Sun. Mar. 1
vs. Utah Valley
CSULB Tournament
(L) 4 -7
Sun. Mar. 1
vs. Long Beach State
CSULB Tournament
(L) 1 -3
Sat. Feb. 28
vs. Seattle
CSULB Tournament
(W) 3 -0
Sat. Feb. 28
vs. UCLA
CSULB Tournament
(L) 1 -9
Fri. Feb. 27
vs. CSUF
CSULB Tournament
(L) 1 -9
Fri. Feb. 27
vs. Northwestern
CSULB Tournament
9:30 a.m.
Fri. Mar. 6
vs. IUPUI
SLO Tournament
6:00 p.m.
Fri. Mar. 6
@ Cal Poly
SLO Tournament
3:00 p.m.
Sat. Mar. 7
vs. USD
SLO Tournament
4:30 p.m.
Sat. Mar. 7
vs. Bryant
SLO Tournament
7:00 p.m.
Sun. Mar. 8
vs. USD
SLO Tournament
9:00 a.m.
Wed. Mar. 18
vs. Utah State (DH)
1:00 p.m.
Sat. Mar. 21
@ Portland State (DH)
1:00 p.m.
Sun. Mar. 22
@ Portland State
12:00 p.m.
Wed. Mar. 25
vs. Dixie State
4:00 p.m.
Twitter
Facebook
Web Ad for iPhone App