Article Image
Photo by: South Dakota State University

Jacks finish tied for 6th in Idaho

Courtesy: SDSU Sports Info
Release: 09/03/2013 17:33:44

VICTOR, IDAHO-- The Jackrabbit men's golf team wrapped up the Battle in the Tetons on Tuesday, tying for 6th place with Valparaiso.

The Jacks entered the final round in fifth place after posting scores of 304 and 290 on Monday, but a score of 295 on Tuesday slipped SDSU into a tie for 6th and an 889 team score for the tournament.

Senior Hudson Carpenter was the top golfer for the Jacks, posting scores of 74 and 67 on Monday with a final round of 75 on Tuesday. Carpenter's 54 hole score totaled 216, finishing tied for 6th place after entering the final round tied for first.

Grant Smith earned a top-25 finish in his first 54-hole collegiate tournament with a two day total of 220. The freshman carded rounds of 73, 75 and 72 to finish tied for 14th place.

Sophomore transfer Dylan Baker finished tied for 29th place with a three round total of 227. The new Jackrabbit shot rounds of 79, 73 and 75.

Teammate Lukas Davison finished one stroke behind Baker after posting scores of 80, 75 and 73. The senior finished tied for 33rd place with a two day total of 228.

Rounding out the Jackrabbit top five, sophomore AC Sitter finished tied for 39th place with scores of 78, 77 and 79 for a tournament total of 234.

Competing as individuals, freshmen Ian Rinkin tied for 42nd place and Trevor Tobin finished in 49th place. Rinkin posted rounds of 80, 78 and 78 for a two day total of 236. Tobin had scores of 90, 86 and 86 for a 54 hole total of 262.

Wyoming won the tournament with a final score of 857 (301-279-277), led by tournament champion Kamrin Allen, who posted rounds of 77, 66 and 67 for a final score of 210.

The Battle in the Tetons was held at the 7,373-yard, par-72 Headwaters Course at Teton Springs. Weber State played host with eight schools competing in the event.

The Jackrabbits are back in action Sept. 16-17 at the Ram Master Invitational in Colorado Springs, Colo., hosted by Colorado State.