Article Image
Photo by: South Dakota State University

Five receive Hampshire honors

Courtesy: SDSU Sports Info
Release: 06/10/2013 16:30:58
Related Links

Five South Dakota State University players were recently named to the 2013 NFF Hampshire Honor Society for their efforts both on the field and in the classroom.

Representing the Jackrabbits were 2012 seniors Seth Daughters, Bo Helm, Tyrel Kool, Alex Olinger and Ross Shafrath.

The Hampshire Honor Society, which is sponsored by the National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame (NFF), recognizes college football players from all divisions of play who each maintained a cumulative 3.2 GPA or better throughout their college career. A total of 703 players from 259 schools were honored on the 2013 squad. 

Qualifications for membership in the NFF Hampshire Honor Society include:
· Being a starter or a significant substitute in one's last year of eligibility at an accredited NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision, Football Championship Subdivision, Division II, Division III, or an NAIA college or university;
· Achieving a 3.2 cumulative grade point average throughout entire course of undergraduate study; and
· Meeting all NCAA-mandated progress towards degree requirements and graduation.

The Jackrabbit football program has been represented well in the seven-year history of the Hampshire Honor Society as 33 different players have been selected for induction.