Article Image
Photo by: Mike Janes Photography

Jackrabbits fall in finale

Courtesy: SDSU Sports Info
Release: 05/18/2013 17:33:44
Related Links

OMAHA, Neb. – Summit League champion Omaha scored six times in the fifth inning, defeating South Dakota State, 8-2, in the baseball regular season finale for both teams Saturday afternoon at the Ballpark at Boys Town.

The Mavericks, who are in transition to full Division I status, ended their season 27-22 overall and 20-6 in The Summit League. SDSU dropped to 31-21 overall, 16-10 in league play. The Jackrabbits will enter next week’s Summit League Baseball Championship in Rochester, Mich., as the No. 1 seed and will face Western Illinois in first-round action Thursday.

SDSU broke a scoreless deadlock in the top of the fourth inning on a Jordan Varga base hit that plated Al Robbins, who led off the frame with an opposite-field single to left.

Jackrabbit starter Kolton Emery scattered three hits in keeping Omaha off the scoreboard through four innings before running into trouble in the fifth. The Mavericks scored the tying run on a squeeze bunt by Cole Gruber. A base hit by Cory Buckley plated the second run of the inning, which was followed later in the inning by two-run singles from Alex Mortensen and Alex Schultz.

The Jackrabbits got a run back in the sixth as Reid Clary drew a bases-loaded walk that forced in Daniel Telford.

Omaha capped the scoring in the bottom of the eighth as Buckley connected on a two-run homer off Jackrabbit reliever J.D. Moore. Buckley was 3-for-4 and drove in three runs to lead the Mavericks’ 11-hit attack. For the series, Buckley was 10-for-16 (.625 batting average) and drove in five runs.

Freshman Zach Coppola notched two of the Jackrabbits’ six hits in Saturday’s contest.

Zach Williamsen pitched 5 2/3 innings to earn the win for the Mavericks. Williamsen struck out five and walked five en route to his fourth win of the season.

SDSU   000       101       000       2-6-2
UNO     000       060       02X      8-11-1
SDSU: Kolton Emery, Chad Hodges (5), Blake Fiedelman (7), J.D. Moore (8) and Reid Clary, Sam Pack (6). UNO: Zach Williamsen, Anthony Falcone (6), Derek Landis (9) and Alex Mortensen.
W-Williamsen (4-1). L-Emery (3-5). Save-none.
HR: UNO-Cory Buckley (1).