Article Image
Photo by: Tim Potts

Three Jacks named to Academic All-League

Courtesy: SDSU Sports Info
Release: 05/16/2013 17:30:43
Related Links

ELMHURST, Ill. – Three Jackrabbits were named to the Summit League Outdoor Track and Field Academic All-League Team on Thursday. Luke Leischner, Tera Potts and Andrew Thies were the three Jackrabbits named to Summit League Outdoor Track and Field Academic All-League Team.

Leischner has a 3.508 GPA in wildlife and fisheries. At the conference meet he won 400-meter dash (47.08) for the second time and anchored the 4x400-meter relay team to a first place finish (3:14.63). He was also named to Academic All-League Team during the 2012-13 indoor season.

Thies has a 4.0 GPA in the pre-pharmacy program at SDSU. He finished fifth in the 3,000-meter steeplechase (9:38.44) in the conference meet.

Potts is a nursing major with a 4.0 GPA. She placed fifth in the 1,500-meter run (4:43.26) at the conference meet. Earlier on Thursday, it was announced that Potts had qualified for the NCAA West Preliminary Round in the 3,000-meter steeplechase with her time of 10:34.29. She also was named to Academic All-League Team during the 2012-13 indoor season.

To be eligible for the Academic All-League team, a student-athlete must have a cumulative GPA of at least 3.30 (on a 4.0 scale), completed at least one full academic year at the current institution and participated in 50 percent of their team's competitions. The outdoor track and field Academic All-League Teams are made up of ten student-athletes.

Outdoor Track & Field Academic All-League Teams
Men's Team
Alec Espeland, North Dakota State
Brant Haase, South Dakota
Brandon Kovash, South Dakota
Luke Leischner, South Dakota State
Jeff Liles, Western Illinois
Andy Lillejord, North Dakota State
Nathaniel Marshall, Western Illinois
Jeff Mettler, South Dakota
Casey Orgon, North Dakota State
J.D. Smith, IUPUI
Matt Tetzlaff, North Dakota State
Andrew Thies, South Dakota State

Women's Team
Leslie Brost, North Dakota State
Alexa Duling, South Dakota
Emily Grove, South Dakota
Brittni Hutton, Oakland
Katie Johnson, North Dakota State
Maddie McClellan, North Dakota State
Maja Mihalinec, Omaha
Brittany Page, North Dakota State
Tera Potts, South Dakota State
Sami Spenner, Omaha
Kaci Verkamp, IUPUI
Katarina Zarudnaya, Omaha