Article Image
Photo by: South Dakota State University

Equestrian advances to NCEA Nationals

Courtesy: SDSU Sports Info
Release: 04/08/2013 17:43:52

As the South Dakota State equestrian team prepares for NCEA Nationals on April 18-21 in Waco, Texas, they do so for the first time as a complete team, as both the western and hunt seat teams qualified for the event.

The Jackrabbit western team heads to nationals for the fifth time in school history and drew the seventh seed, while the hunt seat team advances for the first time as a No. 12 seed.

“This team made great progress over the last two years, and I’m excited for the hunt seat riders to make their first appearance at nationals,” head coach Megan Rossiter said. “It’s also great to see the western team move up to the seventh seed.  We’re ecstatic to have the full team represented this year.”

The Jackrabbit western riders open the event on April 18 against UT-Martin, with the winner advancing to face No. 2 seed Kansas State on Friday, April 19. The Wildcats ended the Jackrabbits season last year at NCEA Nationals with a 6-2 win.

The hunt seat squad makes its first-ever appearance at nationals on Thursday, April 18 against No. 5 seed TCU, with the winner advancing to face No. 4 seed Auburn on April 19.

All of the action from Waco can be seen live via webcast, beginning with the opening ceremony on April 17 at 6:30 p.m.

For more on the NCEA and to follow this year's national championships, visit

At last year's NCEA National Championships, Texas A&M won the overall championship, along with its fourth consecutive championship in the western bracket. In the hunt seat bracket, Baylor won the national championship. 

Hosted by the city of Waco and Baylor University, NCEA Nationals returns to the Extraco Events Center in Waco, Texas for the seventh straight year

NCEA National Championship - Western Seedings

1. Oklahoma State

2. Kansas State

3. Georgia

4. Texas Christian

5. South Carolina

6. Texas A&M

7. South Dakota State

8. Baylor

9. Auburn

10. Tennessee-Martin

11. Fresno State

12. New Mexico State

NCEA National Championship - Hunt Seat Seedings

1. Baylor

2. South Carolina

3. Georgia

4. Auburn

5. Texas Christian

6. Southern Methodist

7. Oklahoma State

8. Kansas State

9. Tennessee-Martin

10. Texas A&M

11. New Mexico State

12. South Dakota State