Article Image
Photo by: Robby Gallagher

Wolters named Naismith Award Candidate

Courtesy: SDSU Sports Info
Release: 03/01/2013 11:32:46

ATLANTA - The Atlanta Tipoff Club announced its top-30 candidates for the 2013 Naismith Men's College Player of the Year Award presented by AT&T on Tuesday, a list that includes South Dakota State guard Nate Wolters.

"Nate is a special player and a worthy candidate for the Naismith Award, and his stats prove that," head coach Scott Nagy said. "He works hard to make himself a better basketball player, which makes us a better basketball team, and it's good to see him get noticed for all of his hard work." 

The Atlanta Tipoff Club's Board of Selectors selected the top 30 candidates, basing its criteria on player performances to this point in the 2013 men's college basketball season. In late March, the Naismith Trophy voting academy narrows down the list to four finalists, with The Naismith Men's College Player of the Year presented by AT&T awarded on April 7, 2013 in Atlanta.

For the ninth consecutive year, fans can text their votes for the player of their choice and help determine the 2013 Naismith Trophy winner. Voting opens to fans on Monday, March 25. Naismith Trophy presenting sponsor AT&T is making the voting open to other wireless carriers, enabling even more fans to participate.