Article Image
Photo by: Robby Gallagher

Lally, Peugh named to newcomer team

Courtesy: SDSU Sports Info
Release: 11/27/2012 17:26:11

South Dakota State defensive players T.J. Lally and Marshall Peugh earned spots on the 2012 Missouri Valley Football Conference All-Newcomer Team, which was announced Tuesday.

A redshirt freshman linebacker from Chicago, Lally started all 11 games during the regular season at middle linebacker for a Jackrabbit team that finished second in the league standings and earned a berth in the Football Championship Subdivision playoffs. A four-time newcomer of the week award winner, Lally shared the team lead with six sacks and two forced fumbles, while ranking second in total tackles with 89 (63 solo) and tackles for loss with eight. He also intercepted two passes.

Peugh made an immediate impact at defensive end after transferring from Glendale College (Ariz.). The Avondale, Ariz., native completed the regular season third on the team with 5.5 sacks and tallied 44 total tackles.

Northern Iowa quarterback Sawyer Kollmorgen was named both MVFC Freshman of the Year and Newcomer of the Year to headline the 22-player squad.