Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Duke Photography
Mason Plumlee, Seth Curry and Ryan Kelly
Blue Devils Honored at 2012-13 Banquet
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 04/19/2013
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links
DURHAM, N.C. - In celebration of seniors Seth Curry, Ryan Kelly and Mason Plumlee as well as Duke’s 2012-13 season, the Duke basketball program held its annual banquet and awards ceremony on Friday in Cameron Indoor Stadium. The Blue Devils’ outstanding season featured a 30-6 record overall, including a perfect 16-0 mark at Cameron Indoor Stadium, as well as the Battle 4 Atlantis championship and an NCAA Elite Eight appearance.

Duke’s senior trio of Curry, Kelly and Plumlee shared the Swett-Baylin Award, given annually to the team MVP, and the Bill Krzyzewski Captains Award. The three-man senior class helped Duke to a 124-23 record, four in-season tournament titles, two ACC Championships and the 2010 NCAA Championship during their time in Durham. The group combined to average 47.5 points and 17.8 rebounds per game in 2012-13.

Plumlee also received the Dr. Deryl Hart Award (Top Scholar-Athlete) as well as the Iron Duke Award (Most Minutes), Best FG Percentage and Best Rebounding Average. The Warsaw, Ind., native was selected as a Capital One first team Academic All-America, while also receiving consensus second team All-America honors. Plumlee closed the year averaging 17.1 points and 10.0 rebounds to become the second player under head coach Mike Krzyzewski to average a double-double for a season. He also shot 59.9 percent from the field in a team-high 1,248 minutes.

Curry also claimed the Pagliuca Family Coach’s Award and Best Free Throw Percentage honors. Curry, a second team All-America selection by the Sporting News, led Duke in scoring at 17.5 points per game and finished second in the ACC in three-point field goals (95) and three-point percentage (.438). He shot 80.9 percent (123-of-152) from the free throw line on the year. Curry registered 29 double-figure scoring games, including a team-high 18 games with 20 or more points.

Kelly was tabbed Duke’s Best Defensive Player despite missing 13 games with a right foot injury. He was an integral part of Duke’s team defense, averaging 1.6 blocks per game and taking nine charges. Kelly was also one of five Blue Devils to average double figures in scoring at 12.9 points per game. He delivered one of the most memorable games in Duke history on March 2. Returning from injury after 53 days off and just 20 minutes of practice the day before, Kelly scored a career-high 36 points on 10-of-14 shooting, including 7-of-9 from three-point range, in a 79-76 win over No. 5 Miami at Cameron Indoor Stadium.

Junior forward Josh Hairston received the True Blue Award for taking a team-high 20 charges, while classmate Tyler Thornton won the Glenn E. "Ted" Mann Award as the reserve contributing most to team morale.

Sophomore guard Quinn Cook earned the Most Assists award after finishing second in the ACC with 5.3 assists per game. Cook, a third team All-ACC selection by ACSMA, averaged 11.7 points, 3.8 rebounds and 1.5 steals per game to go along with a 2.4:1 assist-to-turnover ratio.

Duke managers Kyle Mumma, Kate Wheelock and John McGinty all received the Gopal Varadhan Manager Award, while cheerleader Larissa Musgrave won the Harry Rainey Spirit Award and band member Katie Harper received the Charles Hogan Memorial Band Award.

2012-13 Duke Basketball Award Winners
Swett-Baylin Award (MVP) – Seth Curry, Ryan Kelly, Mason Plumlee
Bill Krzyzewski Captains Award – Seth Curry, Ryan Kelly, Mason Plumlee
Dr. Deryl Hart Award (Top Scholar-Athlete) - Mason Plumlee
Glenn E. "Ted" Mann Award (Reserve Contributing Most to Team Morale) – Tyler Thornton
Pagliuca Family Coach's Award (Player Exemplifying the Commitment and Values of Duke Basketball while Displaying Overall Improvement) – Seth Curry
Iron Duke Award (Most Minutes Played) – Mason Plumlee
True Blue Award (Most Charges Taken) – Josh Hairston
Best Field Goal Percentage – Mason Plumlee
Best Free Throw Percentage - Seth Curry
Best Defensive Player – Ryan Kelly
Best Rebounding Average - Mason Plumlee
Most Assists – Quinn Cook
Gopal Varadhan Manager Award - Kyle Mumma, Kate Wheelock, John McGinty
Harry Rainey Spirit Award - Larissa Musgrave
Charles Hogan Memorial Band Award - Katie Harper