Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Duke Photography
Mason Plumlee and Rasheed Sulaimon
Plumlee & Sulaimon Finalists for USBWA Awards
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 03/04/2013
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links
DURHAM, N.C. -- Senior Mason Plumlee and freshman Rasheed Sulaimon were named finalists for U.S. Basketball Writers Association awards on Monday. Plumlee is one of 14 outstanding players selected as finalists for its 2013 Oscar Robertson National Player of the Year Trophy presented by Aflac, while Sulaimon is among eight standout freshmen competing for the Integris Wayman Tisdale Award.

Members of the USBWA's board of directors chose the finalists and the entire 900-member USBWA will vote on the awards as well as the annual All-America and All-District teams.

Plumlee, an ACC Player of the Year candidate, ranks among the conference leaders in scoring (3rd, 17.1 ppg.), rebounding (2nd, 10.3 rpg.), field goal percentage (2nd, .591), double-doubles (t-1st, 16), double figure rebounding games (t-1st, 17), offensive rebounds (t-4th, 2.9 orpg.), defensive rebounds (1st, 7.5 drpg.), blocks (5th, 1.6 bpg.) and minutes played (4th, 34.7 mpg.). He has scored in double figures in 26 games with seven games with 20 or more points scored. Plumlee is one of 14 players in the NCAA averaging a double-double this season and is attempting to become the second player under Coach K to average a double-double in a season.

Sulaimon, one of the top freshmen guards in the country, averages 12.0 points, 3.3 rebounds and 2.1 assists per game. The Houston, Texas, native has made 44 three-point field goals (t-7th all-time among Duke freshmen) while shooting nearly 40.0 percent from behind the three-point arc. Sulaimon has scored in double figures 19 times including a season-best 27-point effort against Boston College on Feb. 24. He matched a Duke freshmen record with six three-point field goals in a 25-point outings at Cameron Indoor Stadium versus Maryland.

The recipients are to be announced on Friday, April 5 in Atlanta at a 9:15 a.m. ET press conference and then formally presented their awards at the Devon Energy College Basketball Awards on Mon., April 15 at the National Cowboy and Western Heritage Museum in Oklahoma City. The Henry Iba Coach of the Year Award will also be presented at the gala to be held annually the Monday following the NCAA Men's Final Four.

Anthony Bennett, UNLV  
Trey Burke, Michigan  
Michael Carter-Williams, Syracuse  
Doug McDermott, Creighton
Ben McLemore, Kansas
Victor Oladipo, Indiana
Kelly Olynyk, Gonzaga
Mason Plumlee, Duke
Otto Porter, Georgetown
Marcus Smart, Oklahoma State
Russ Smith, Louisville
Deshaun Thomas, Ohio State
Jeff Withey, Kansas
Cody Zeller, Indiana

Anthony Bennett, UNLV  
Jahii Carson, Arizona State  
Gary Harris, Michigan State  
Ben McLemore, Kansas
Shabazz Muhammad, UCLA  
Nerlens Noel, Kentucky  
Marcus Smart, Oklahoma State
Rasheed Sulaimon, Duke

Tickets and sponsorship information for the Devon Energy College Basketball Awards are available at or by contacting Scott Hill (405-749-1515, The April 15 banquet will also honor Michigan State coach Tom Izzo as the recipient of the Wayman Tisdale Humanitarian Award.

Since the 1958-59 season, the USBWA has named a National Player of the Year. In 1998, the award was named in honor of the University of Cincinnati Hall of Famer and two-time USBWA Player of the Year Oscar Robertson. It is the nation's oldest award and the only one named after a former player.

The USBWA has chosen a national freshman of the year since the 1988-89 season when LSU's Chris Jackson was the recipient. Last season, Kentucky's Anthony Davis became the second winner of the Wayman Tisdale Award. Other notable previous winners of the national freshman of the year award include Kevin Durant, Carmelo Anthony, Jason Kidd and Chris Webber.

The U.S. Basketball Writers Association was formed in 1956 at the urging of then-NCAA Executive Director Walter Byers. With some 900 members worldwide, it is one of the most influential organizations in college basketball. It has selected an All-America team since the 1956-57 season. For more information on the USBWA and its award programs, contact executive director Joe Mitch at 314-795-6821.