Uploaded Ad
Men's Basketball Celebrates 2011-12 Season
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 04/14/2012
article image
Senior Miles Plumlee
Photo Courtesy: Duke Photography
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C. - In celebration of senior Miles Plumlee and the 2011-12 season that included a 27-7 overall record, a perfect 8-0 mark in ACC road games, the 17th consecutive trip to the NCAA Tournament, and head coach Mike Krzyzewski's NCAA-record 903rd victory, the Duke basketball program held its annual banquet and awards ceremony on Saturday in Cameron Indoor Stadium.

Miles Plumlee collected three awards, earning the Bill Krzyzewski Captains Award, the Iron Devil Strength and Conditioning Award, and the honor of Best Field Goal Percentage. Plumlee set career highs in points per game (6.6), rebounds per game (7.1) and field goal percentage (.610) as a senior while also setting the Coach K-era single-game rebounding record when he pulled down 22 boards in a Feb. 11 win against Maryland. The Warsaw, Ind., native helped the Blue Devils to a 124-24 record, three ACC Championships and the 2010 NCAA Championship during his career. He finished his time at Duke with 650 points, 654 rebounds and 87 blocks.

Krzyzewski nd his staff honored sophomore point guard Tyler Thornton with the Coach's Award, an honor given to the player exemplifying the commitment and values of Duke basketball while displaying overall improvement. Thornton also received the Best Defensive Player Award after emerging as Duke's starting point guard over the final 10 games.

ACC Freshman of the Year Austin Rivers won the Iron Duke Award for playing a team-high 1,129 minutes this season. His team-leading average of 33.2 minutes per game ranked seventh in the ACC and was the eighth highest average by a Duke freshman. Also an All-America third team selection by the ABCA, Rivers was only the third freshman in Duke history to lead the team in scoring and posted the third highest scoring average by a Duke freshman with 15.5 points per game.

Junior forward Ryan Kelly received the True Blue Award for taking a team-high 14 charges. Kelly, who won the award despite missing the ACC and NCAA Tournaments with a foot injury, emerged as one of Duke's top scorers as a junior, averaging 11.8 points while shooting 40.8 percent from three-point range.

Junior forward Mason Plumlee brought home two awards, including the Dr. Deryl Hart Award as Duke's top scholar-athlete and the Best Rebounding Average Award. Plumlee earned college basketball's highest academic honor this year when he was named a first team Capital One Academic All-America selection for holding a GPA of 3.44 as a double major in Psychology and Cultural Anthropology. He also established himself as one of the top big men in the ACC, finishing fourth in the league with 9.2 rebounds per game, third with 12 double-doubles and 22nd with 11.1 points per game.

Junior guard Seth Curry took a step forward in 2011-12 and earned the Best Free Throw Percentage and Most Assists awards. Curry led the team in those two categories and steals while ranking second on the team in points per game (13.2) and made three-pointers (64).

Sophomore forward Josh Hairston won the Glenn E. "Ted" Mann Award as the reserve contributing most to team morale. Hairston appeared in 29 games in his second season while cracking the starting lineup twice.

Duke managers Kyle Mumma, Kate Wheelock and John McGinty all received the Gopal Varadhan Manager Award, while cheerleader Lauren Myers won the Harry Rainey Spirit Award and band member Katie Reichert received the Charles Hogan Memorial Band Award.

2011-12 Duke Basketball Award Winners

Harry Rainey Spirit Award - Lauren Myers

Charles Hogan Memorial Band Award - Katie Reichert

Gopal Varadhan Manager Award - Kyle Mumma, Kate Wheelock, John McGinty

Bill Krzyzewski Captains Award - Miles Plumlee

Best Field Goal Percentage - Miles Plumlee

Best Free Throw Percentage - Seth Curry

Dr. Deryl Hart Award (Top Scholar-Athlete) - Mason Plumlee

Best Defensive Player - Tyler Thornton

Best Rebounding Average - Mason Plumlee

Iron Duke Award (Most Minutes Played) - Austin Rivers

Glenn E. "Tedd" Mann Award (Reserve Contributing Most to Team Morale) - Josh Hairston

True Blue Award (Most Charges Taken) - Ryan Kelly

Most Assists - Seth Curry

Coach's Award (Player Exemplifying the Commitment and Values of Duke Basketball while Displaying Overall Improvement) - Tyler Thornton